145 mm cranks

cruzKurt

Guru
I have been riding 145mm cranks for a couple of years on my v20/v20c, I like them a lot and wouldn't ride with anything else.

I swapped my GRX 170mm for some 150mm a while ago. I find 150mm a lot better. They just felt right straight away to me.
You can ride at a higher cadence easier which I find helps on the long hills as I can ride smoother in a lower gear. I also dropped 2 teeth on the front ring (it was just what I already had) but I can still pedal comfortably at around 5km/h faster with the shorter cranks.
You will have to change your position slightly but that suited me as I could move the bars forward a bit.
Hope that helps.

ak-tux

Zen MBB Master
I swapped my GRX 170mm for some 150mm a while ago. I find 150mm a lot better. They just felt right straight away to me.
You can ride at a higher cadence easier which I find helps on the long hills as I can ride smoother in a lower gear. I also dropped 2 teeth on the front ring (it was just what I already had) but I can still pedal comfortably at around 5km/h faster with the shorter cranks.
You will have to change your position slightly but that suited me as I could move the bars forward a bit.
Hope that helps.
How well does it climb steep hills compared to your 170mm? Did you need an adaption period. If you had comparative power numbers, that would also be very informative.

Last edited:
Steep hills (assuming 15-20% type of thing?) dont seem much different, just easier to use a higher cadence and possibly a little more steering control. I needed no adaption period myself. They just felt a lot better straight off for me.
As I can't train any more I don't use a power meter sorry.

Alanczik

Has anyone switched to the 145 cranks? How do you like them?
There are 2 more topics about short crankarms, so look them up for more information.

As I answered on one of them, i used a 172.2 shimano for about a year, then ordered some cheap 145mm crankarms from Aliexpress for experiment purposes..