Claire Smith, doing ultra Triathlons with a bent

Opik

As she is doing the TransAm marathon in USA in 2021, maybe Cruzbike is interested in approaching her to use V20 or S40 for the event?

The more allies the recumbent has, the better. Especially badass ones

Especially as she mentions she is having a hard time with tight turns

In 2017, I took on my first continuous Deca triathlon (10 x iron-distance). This involved swimming 38km, cycling 1,800km and finally running 10 marathons, back to back, all 422km of it. All the disciplines had their own challenges, the cold during the 20hr swim and the mind-numbing back ache that was my constant companion on the bike leg. But it was on the run where I truly experienced an all-consuming, agonising pain.

For me, I am fairly average. I’m not very good at running, I’m not fast on the bike, it’s doing something that is difficult but breaking it down and showing that the normal person can do stuff too. I have back issues which has led to quite a lot of problems, which is why I ride a recumbent bike, I am also asthmatic but it is continually saying I can do this and not letting anything stand in my way. If it does, I make mistakes, I learn from it and I try and change things, I try again, you just keep going.”

Q and A :

Can you explain a bit about your cycle during the continuous deca and your recumbent bike?

I have always experienced bad back pain on the bike section of long distance triathlons. I now know this is because I have Hypolordosis, which is a severe curvature of the lower (lumbar) spine. It affects disks L4/L5 and causes nerve pain and numbness. No painkillers work and it’s fairly difficult to manage. On the one-a-day events, at least I have a break after each bike section, but on the continuous, I was concerned that it may actually stop me and cause long-term damage.