crankset derailleur

dlanornic

Hi, I built a bike from a Schwinn al.comp mtb and the conversion kit. It worked fine but the crankset was geared to low- 22/32/42. I replaced it with a Shamano 27/38/48 and now I can't get the derailleur to work. It appears to be on the wrong angle and the chain rubs either one place or the other. Do I need to use a different derailleur or what? I'm kind of new to all this and this is the first time I really did anything with a bike like this! Any ideas how I can get back on the road outside of going back to the old crankset?

Charles.Plager

Recumbent Quant
Given that the difference in

Given that the difference in gears is very similar (20 teeth old crankset, 21 teeth new crankset), I would expect that you could get the front derailleur to work. Try posting some pictures (or even a video) how how it's rubbing (turn the bike upside-down if you don't have a stand).

dlanornic

Here's a new angle

Ok, That new crank isn't going to gear it up enough so this is want I would like to do. Find a 30/39/52 crankset that would bolt on the conversion kit and work without any questions. Surely someone's already did that and I just haven't found the post. Please, somebody help me get this bike on the road before I go back to my long frame for good!! No,really I want to ride this thing right now but I'm not very bright about figuring out the details. :(

dlanornic

Clarifying my problem