Egg beater cleats

Sonnybea

Sunday morning I got my S40 ready for a solo ride. Took off from my house about a mile away from home I tried to unclip from my right foot. No luck I lost one cleat screw could not unclip from the pedal.
I had to remove my sandle that was a site to see. Finally got the sandle off the pedal and rode home
I have been riding eggbeaters since 2002 never has this happened
So for now on I will check the cleat screws on a regular basis

Frito Bandito

Zen MBB Master
Thanks for reminding me Sonnybea. The other day I noticed a boom clamp was a bit loose, so I tightened it as well as check the bar clamps, BB clamps, and screws on the cranks. Just gotta remember to do the shoes more often.

Opik

I wonder what kind of screws and other connections on the bike that I need grease and what are the kinds that need loctite

LarryOz

Cruzeum Curator & Sigma Wrangler
I wonder what kind of screws and other connections on the bike that I need grease and what are the kinds that need loctite
Winter is always a great time to tear down and rebuild the bike and components: replace, repaire, clean, grease, tighten as needed. It's like having a new bike!

xtalbike

While you’re at check the chain ring bolts! Discovered 80 miles into a century when the hills started and the inner ring was unusable. Fortunately not so steep that I couldn’t struggle up in the big ring.

Attachments

• 61C54AF4-50D8-4B78-8E89-34E53654A930.jpeg
    61C54AF4-50D8-4B78-8E89-34E53654A930.jpeg
    1.9 MB · Views: 13

Frito Bandito

Zen MBB Master
Today’s temp is a high of 84F. When it gets in the 60s, I am chilly. I actually like riding when it is in the 90s. I have ridden when it is 100 before. I drink plenty of water. As long as you are moving; the breeze you generate keeps you cooler.