Gonna give it a shot.

BadKarma

Okay, I think I'm gonna try this.

I was just starting the build process on a Lemond DF road bike to ride for a long term goal century next summer, but ran across the frame kit on ebay and got curious.

Questions:

I have a few SRAM parts coming for the other bike, I hope they can work on this one too?

Is the Softride frame kit designed for 26" wheels or is 700 also easy to use?

can I use just any brakes? SRAM? Shimano?

What should I look for in a fork setup?

thanks guys for any and all help.

BadKarma

After roaming through and

After roaming through and seeing other conversions, can "any" Y frame be used? Surly not those box store hazards? It seems that the "Next" bikes and the Mongooses are from the same Manuf.

Andrew 1973

Zen MBB Master
I'm new to this but...

The "box store hazards" aren't always a bed bet. Specifically, take a look at the Next Tiara. I am working on a conversion now (I have yet to purchase a kit) and Doug Burton has done some amazing work with this frame.

http://cruzbike.com/forum/data/sites/default/ckfinder/images/IMAG0321a.jpg

BadKarma

AWWW MAN!!!!! I wish you had

AWWW MAN!!!!! I wish you had not posted that link!!!!

That is so sweeet!!!!!

Okay. I give, ya got me.

2012 SRAM Apex 2x10 Compact Road Crankset & GXP BB - 175 50/34 will be here tomarrow.
Matching Front Derailleur is on the way also w/ clamp ring for braze-ons.
I'm planning on SRAM 1050 11-32 10spd cassette.

Please tell me that these are workable parts.

Andrew 1973

Zen MBB Master
It does look sweet, doesn't it?