New to Forum & Recumbents, in Long Beach, Ca

Jeffers

Performer Low Racer
I've recently become interested in Cruz/ recumbent bikes. But haven't actually ridden one yet. I'm already a cyclist though, and know I want to continue some form of cycling into old age. I'm 66 now, live in Long Beach Ca. And ride 26-30 miles a day on the San Gabriel bike path. I started riding 4 years ago when I bought a Felt road bike. The part of the San Gabriel bike path down where I live is a cement flood control that I call my concrete wind tunnel. Over the years I've converted my road bike to a Tri bike with a forward seat and aero bars. And slowly gotten myself into an almost horizontal position on the bike. This has made a big aero difference in the wind. And encouraged me to get faster. I've put 32.k miles on the bike since I bought it 4 years ago.
There's sometimes a lot of traffic on the bike path. 4 weeks ago I had to get on the brakes hard and flipped the bike over, and landed on my head. The helmet did it's job, but I broke my clavical. The whole thing kind of shook me up because I hadn't realized how un-stable a tri bike could be under hard braking, though obvious to me now.
It's gotten me thinking if there's a safer bike I could be riding out there that would still be aero as a tri bike.
I was thinking maybe something like a S40 or Vendetta.
Would be interested in purchasing a used Cruzbike.

Thanks Guys!

paco1961

Zen MBB Master