Q-45 for Great Divide route?

PWG

I've been riding recumbents for 12 years and enjoy long-distance touring. Cycled cross country San Diego to Florida, a 1000 mile loop in France, many other approx. 500mile tours. Just now retired I'm planning to ride the Great Divide Mountain Bike route beginning August of 2020.This is a 2700 mile trip mostly on gravel roads with lots of climbing - some 170,000 feet of climb overall. Adventure Cycling says, "Road quality is quite good, although you'll find that surfaces range from smooth pavement to rutted dirt, where you'll be thankful that you're riding a mountain bike and not a road bike. As a rule, if you're not riding uphill, then you're headed downhill."

I was nervous about riding one of my un-suspended relatively thin-tired long wheel base recumbents. Why? 1:Comfort - there are many sections of rutted bumpy roads, and 2: Hill Climbing - I've ridden some long passes but neither my Rans or my Linear are great on hills. I was so concerned about this that, even though I was considering the Q-45, I bought a new upright with some nice low-pressure big tires for cushioning.

But after a month or so of riding it, I still don't like it! I'm a recumbent rider through and through. The position is just not that comfortable, the view of surroundings is limited, and I can imagine days of butt agony (plus arm and neck issues) getting used to the upright position.

Do any of you have experience with the Q-45 on rough roads, on big climbs, and with day-after-day touring of about 60 miles/day (or best of all have any of you ridden the Great Divide route on a Q-45)?

I'm now thinking I'll sell the new Surly and buy this bike...any feedback?

benphyr

Guru-me-not
I love my QX100 (precursor to Q45) but I would want to spend some time on similar roads - composition, grade, distance - with the Q45 before making that kind of decision.