Sebring 2.0 2024 ride reports

CruzLike

Guru
As I review yesterday's ride at Sebring, still a little hung over and relaxing in the easy chair. I had a lot of fun and there were other times.

One of the bonus items that happen at these races is, seeing your friends. Whether it's your CB family, Strava, Zwifters. They were all there and fun to see in the flesh.

Friday afternoon, in the past, there has been a CruzBike ride. It was kind of a shake down of your bike and body after traveling, by riding the short loop. This year there was a rash of blown tires on some of the group. So the group was a little smaller that usual. Around 4pm Jeff and I got out and played in the wind while on the “new ” short loop.

I made 2 laps and Jeff made 3. The wind was howling close to 20. I optimistically expected the weather to be even better for race day.

Race day is here. A date that I have been preparing for, for the last 3 months. I've been doing a TrainerRoad program to build endurance and strength. I also rode Tuesday nights on Zwift, with the CB crew, in a racing series. And a little easy 40 mi. rides outside. One other thing that I did was training at elevation this year. I was able to train in Florida. I was completely acclimated. Check

At the start line, all the eager riders wait as the timers clock counted down to the pre-race announcements, then the race. While time went by in the calm early dawn, the mosquitos were having a rare treat of many partially clad, thin skin targets to feast on.

In contrast to the past events. This years event had staggered starts based on the category you were riding. This difference will affect my day more that I knew in the moment. Larry called the start of the event at 7:15a and the 6, 12 and 24hr drafting riders were off. Myself included.