sofrider to silvio, worth it?

drshuf

I've been riding my sofrider 2 for 5 months now. I'm enjoying it more and more as I get used to it. I am riding with a friend who is on a standard road bike and am having difficulty keeping up on the hills (especially the steeper ones). I'm considering getting a silvio to improve performance. I would like to get some feedback from those of you who have had both bikes. Is there a significant improvement in performance? I notice that most are outfitting silvios with dropped handlebars with shifters on the brake levers I assume, it seems like this would be a very awkward position for shifting, requiring forward leaning to get to the shifters. Am I missing something?

Thanks for any input.
Sincerely,
Reid Shufer

Mark B

Zen MBB Master
drshuf wrote: I've been riding my sofrider 2 for 5 months now. I'm enjoying it more and more as I get used to it. I am riding with a friend who is on a standard road bike and am having difficulty keeping up on the hills (especially the steeper ones). I'm considering getting a silvio to improve performance. I would like to get some feedback from those of you who have had both bikes. Is there a significant improvement in performance? I notice that most are outfitting silvios with dropped handlebars with shifters on the brake levers I assume, it seems like this would be a very awkward position for shifting, requiring forward leaning to get to the shifters. Am I missing something?

Thanks for any input.
Sincerely,
Reid Shufer

Hi Reid,

Pictures of the Silvio are deceptive. The bike is much more compact than it appears. The first time I laid eyes on Jack's, I couldn't believe how small and compact it really was. It was designed for road bars and brifters, so they are an easy reach. The recent trend has been to use cyclocross drop bars and they seem to be the hot ticket.