Sofrider Zwift project

Rat Rider

First, let me thank ReclinedRider for the very nice Sofrider frame donation to my project. Further, he packed it so brilliantly, it must be noted somewhere for posterity. Anyone who knows my dodgy recumbent history would know - I am an expert on packing recumbents. Well done ReclinedRider.

The working theory for this little experiment is: The shorter chain line of the Cruz should be superior to the 2.x chains of the Barcroft Virginia trainer, or its replacement a RANS Enduro.
Issues and hypotheses.
1. I have piloted a couple of Cruzbikes previously and really didn't get on with the seat.
2. I can replace the seat with a hardshell.
3. The Cruzbike seat might be OK if it is more upright. (the previous bikes were a Silvio and a V)
4. Since weight is not an object, I can bodge together using whatever materials to get what I want.

Rat Rider

The first question answered. Mounted the hardshell - extreme bodge!- unfortunately, the seat in relation to everything else caused the mast clamp to rub my inner thigh on every pedal stroke. FAIL!

20200411_132553.jpg 20200411_132613.jpg 20200411_133725.jpg 20200411_133711.jpg

Rat Rider

Phase 2
Installed and rode around in the land of Zwift briefly. Anecdotally, the transmission of power (such as it is) seems to be more immediate. I experienced some discomfort with the seat. I may try to add a bit of length and width to it. The seat always seems to bury its nose in my spine. It also is tall. Didn't anticipate that. I plan to ride it this way for a few days then troubleshoot some more. Observe the removed shock and handbuilt rear wheel.

20200411_192332.jpg 20200411_203702.jpg

Last edited:

trplay

Zen MBB Master
Nice. Betting you widen the rear base just a little more to keep it from moving (I did). It will be interesting to see if there is a power gain.

Rat Rider