A 1000 km solo brevet around the south of Norway

Tor Hovland

Last week I spent 3 days to do the longest solo ride of my life, the 1000 km brevet starting and ending in Stavanger, Norway, and encircling the entire south of the country.

The major event of the year was going to be the 1001 Miglia in Italy, a ride that literally translates to 1001 miles, or 1611 kilometers. That event has of course been postponed until next year, due to the pandemic, and I was eager to find an alternative. One event that stands out on the Norwegian randonneuring calendar is the 1000 km in Stavanger. As I've never done a 1000 before (except for PBP), that sounded like a proper challenge. And speaking of challenges, this one is also particularly riddled with steep climbs. Going uphill is definitely my major weakness.

Logistically, it would work out nicely, because we would be going on vacation to my parents's house in the south anyway, and because my brother lives near Stavanger with his wife. And amazingly, the route passes through the village where my parents live at exactly the 2/3 mark, making that an obvious sleep stop. The 1/3 mark lands in Seljord, which have cabins for rent with 24 hour reception.

Five years ago, Oscar Hellström achieved the unbelievable feat of completing this ride solo in 44,5 hours, with just 35 minutes of sleep! Let me be absolutely clear that under no circumstance did I fall into the illusion that I could do something similar. After all, Oscar went on to set the record across the length of Sweden the following year, along with two others, covering 2165 km in 105 hours!

So I definitely wasn't planning to break any records. But I wasn't keen on simply touring the route either. Because my family would be waiting for me in Stavanger, I wanted to see how efficiently I could complete the brevet. Within a modicum of reason, however. I wanted to get 3-4 hours of sleep for two nights, and I wanted to take time for a longer meal break per day, etc.