Chain jumping sleuthing

mi7d1

I've been having problems lately with my chain jumping on the highest cog. It started after I put my front Reelight on. Try as I might I couldn't get the chain to run smooth on that cog. In and out I adjusted the "H" screw to no avail. Finaly out of frustration I pulled the wheel to look at the cogs. With my reading glasses on and some rare but welcomed Porland sunshine I found a small chip of metal missing on the cog tooth. It also appears bent slightly. I don't recall my wheel falling over last I worked on it. It had to have been then because it shifted great before then. So now I need a new cog set. Not a problem, I had been thinking about going to a nine speed anyway. I've been held up on the shifters. My preferance is to use some SRAM trigger shifters or even Shimano dual control levers. I'm having a hard time with the twist shifter. I've never used them before and am shifting at wrong times when I don't want to. My only concern is that how my Sofrider is set up it will fit inside of the bike locker at my work, barely. I can't lower my bars because of my knees and I can't raise them because of the bike locker height. :idea: I'm going to have another look at my seat. If it can be moved forward more I can extend the TFT and then perhaps lower my handle bars. I could also go to a road double or triple crank with longer crank arms. That would extend the TFT also. Then again my knees would be at a greater angle and might hit the bars still. I have a crank set here with longer arms (and heavier). I think give it a try, It just might work out in the end...

Flasharry

Surely, longer crank arms will shorten the TFT and raise the knees closer to the bars?
The Freerider bars may be a solution(?)

Stuart.

mi7d1