High Speed Turns

Always-Learnin

Vendetta Love
I apologize if this has been discussed and answered before...I couldn't find it if it was.

I have a sharp, almost 90 degree right hand, down hill turn on my regular ride. I was wondering what the best technique is for taking these kinds of turns at speed?

TIA

JOSEPHWEISSERT

Zen MBB Master
I apologize if this has been discussed and answered before...I couldn't find it if it was.

I have a sharp, almost 90 degree right hand, down hill turn on my regular ride. I was wondering what the best technique is for taking these kinds of turns at speed?

TIA
I used to race weekly on a DF on a 1.75 mile racetrack that had hills and curves for 35-mile to 42-mile races. Sometimes it would rain during a race, and the track would get very slippery from oil and rubber, since it was a regular racetrack any other time. I found that I could handle the wet turns at racing speed as long as I kept the bike upright (not leaning) and only leaned my body. As long as the bike was upright, the back tire could and would slide all over the place, but the bike would not slide out from under me. I still use that technique on my V to avoid sliding out on turns that have gravel.

LMT

Presuming you are based where they drive on the right had side of the road rather than the left.

Place yourself as far over the left of the road as you can leading up to the turn, you don't want to apply any brake or power when going through the turn so make sure you are at the speed that you want, steer in just before cutting the corner and then let the bike drift back out towards the left hand side of the road, wait until the bike is straightened up before applying the power.

Always-Learnin

Vendetta Love
Presuming you are based where they drive on the right had side of the road rather than the left.