Looking for an inexpensive, easy donor

pastymage

My plan is to buy something I can use normally while I save up for the kit. I have no intention to ride anywhere but paved roads, before or after conversion. So, I'm looking for some guidance on a bike that is (ideally) under $200 and fine for casual use, but will work well with the kit, and me (6'0", 220#). I do have Amazon prime to factor in if I buy online. I don't particularly care if I'm riding a "women's" bike around before conversion, if it works better with the kit later. Oh, and I'm decent with tools and instructions, but I have no recent experience with building or fixing bikes, so if a certain frame might need MacGyver stuff to make it work, that might not be ideal for me. I've read the "cheaper" thread, but that was a couple years ago, dunno if anything's changed since then. Is there any priority order for what factors are important, in terms of crossbar height, crossbar shape (flat-ish mountain, or sharp-v ladies cruiser), frame material, suspension/hardtail, wheel type, etc? For example, this one: http://www.walmart.com/ip/26-Women-s-Ro ... e/13398139 seems to have a super-low crossbar, but is it too sharp/small at the bottom for the seat to work? Thanks! -Dave

MagneO

Yes, I believe it is to

Yes, I believe it is to narrow at the bottom for the seat to work. You need a seat back angle in the area of 45 degrees. (Unless you plan to modify the frame)

pastymage

No...modifying the frame is

No...modifying the frame is exactly the sort of thing I want to avoid to stay in the "easy" category. Hmm.

MagneO

Well, if put in a spacer, a

Well, if put in a spacer, a piece of 2x4 or something you could probably raise the seat so that the angle of the back rest is better.

pastymage

But then that would reduce or