Newbie questions

PSter

Just bought my first Cruzbike, a brand new Sofrider v2. The gentleman I got it from ordered it and before he could ride it was diagnosed with advanced osteoporosis and was ordered to give up cycling. The bike had been sitting in his garage since. After about an hour I was riding it, sort of. the next day I made adjustments to fit me better and after another hour I feel more comfortable and more in control of it. First question, the guy had put 2" off road tires on it, would putting the original 1.25" tires back on it make it easier to handle? Next question, I have been riding road bikes for 40 years now (I was 15 when I got my first 10 speed) and enjoy doing as much of the maintenance myself that I can. It's obvious that the 2 legged stand under the bottom bracket wont work with the Sofrider. Any suggestions for an inexpensive stand for doing maintenance?

Thanks for taking the time to read this.

benphyr

Guru-me-not
@ PSter

Welcome to the Cruzbike Tribe!

http://cruzbike.com/forum/threads/folding-a-q45-to-put-in-a-vehicle.12481/#post-146795 See the last picture under post # 8. If you like do-it-yourself, this or similar is pretty easy, price is right, allows most maintenance - might want to add a support on the left side of the front wheel that goes up and holds the front wheel higher up to be a little more stable. People have used a regular bike stand clamping on the boom.

Size of tires probably doesn't make a big difference at your experience level but the narrower your tires the more you are going to bounce around on potholes or at least be worried about it and therefore the bigger tires are probably fine.

Great snag on the brand new used bike!

PSter