Power meter for V20

Colin Goddard

I have just ordered a new V20 and I would like to keep track of my power usage. With the current standard complete V20 build I would like to know the experience the CB owners currently have gained with the various power meter options available. Since I am new to two wheel recumbents I intend to ride with flat pedals (no SPD) for the coming year. My currrent bike computer is a Garmin Edge device.

Looking forward to any ideas. Cheers Colin

Frito Bandito

Zen MBB Master
I bought a Shimano 105 165mm 4iiii crank arm power meter (left side only) and like it. On 1 side it is inexpensive compared with dual sided, but unless I want to swap the whole crankset to another bike it is pretty much stuck on my V20. Pedal based power meters are a bit more expensive, but they have some pros over the 4iiii. 1 of those is that you can swap the pedals between bikes. Another pro is that you can compare the power for each leg to see if they are putting out the same amount of power.

KiwiGuy

I have run a Power2Max crank-based power meter on my V20 for the past five years. The V20 is my only bike so this works for me - I don't have the need for a pedal based system. What I like about this product is that it just works. I only have to change the battery every 12 to 15 months and it works beautifully with my Garmin Edge device.

Power2Max has previously sponsored UAE Team Emirates and Movistar, and currently sponsors EF Education First - which means they get a lot of input from World Tour level pros.

Regarding comparing power from each leg, the Power2Max provides that data as well. I don't know how it is measured and calculated - though frankly I don't particularly care. I have the data available to me after every ride.

All that said, if I were buying a new V20 right now, I'd also take a serious look at the Sram Quarq options. The website bikeradar.com have the Quarq DFour DUB on their list of the best power meters in 2022.