Q45 discomfort?

bikemore

Newbie here. I'm considering buying a Q45. After reading quite a few posts here, I'm hesitating for these reasons: the learning curve and seat discomfort.

I don't understand why there's a learning curve that's different than riding a "regular" bike. Is it because of the pedal steer? Or because balancing is so different in the recumbent position? Or something else entirely? The learning curve alone wouldn't prevent me from pulling the trigger--if others can learn, I know I can too.

My bigger concern is the posts I've seen about seat discomfort. One of the main reasons I'm considering a recumbent (my first) is because of the discomfort that I have, especially between my shoulder blades, when I ride my "regular" bike. If a recumbent will only transfer the discomfort to a different body part, that's not a solution. Several of the posts I read about this topic indicate that the owners solved their problem by swapping out the stock seat for a (expensive) 3rd party seat. I don't want to have to go that route, because I'm already stretching my budget.

Any comments and constructive suggestions are welcome. Thanks.

billyk

Guru
if others can learn, I know I can too

Yes! YES!

You may or may not like the stock seat, but I can guarantee you won't have the same problems as on a DF bike. It's a whole different world.

However, I had seat discomfort (recumbutt) from the stock Q45 seat on long rides and ended up buying a Thor seat ... Yeah, pricey, but it turned out to be well worth it.

My advice is to get the bike, get past the learning curve, experiment with dialing in the seat and riding position (many possible adjustments of boom, handlebars, seat angle and back/forth position, ...). You can also add stiff foam to tweak the seat shape. For instance, I reversed the two kinds of foam inside the seat so the stiffer one was on top. Lots of fun experimenting in your future; these bikes have many more adjustments than a DF.