Road bike vs. recumbent comparison

Status
Not open for further replies.

Osiris

Zen MBB Master
So after four years of riding various recumbents exclusively, I decided to take a spin on my 2013 Specialized Venge, which has been collecting dust on my wall rack since 2014. I've been using a power meter for many years, so I made some interesting observations after several rides on the Venge.

First, my peak power production has dropped significantly since I gave up riding diamond frames. No real surprise there. The seating posture on the Venge requires a lot more hip flexion than I'm used to on recumbents, and the greater the amount of hip flexion, the more you rely on the hamstrings and glutes to push the pedals. This became especially clear after several sprints, which left my hamstrings and glutes feeling completely exhausted while my quadriceps hardly experienced any stress at all -- precisely the opposite of what I'm accustomed to when riding a recumbent. Interestingly enough, I'm still able to produce enough wattage to sustain my former cruising speed of 22 mph, so my power output at lower levels doesn't seem to have suffered much, if at all.