salt, water, stainless, aluminum, UGH!

georgec

I am looking at the dirt and muck accumulating on the nice new Silvio frame as I ride around on wet paths these last few weeks.

I am thinking about what happens to aluminum in contact with stainless steel with a little salt water thrown into the mix. What with living in Boston, it is a fact of life that sooner or later salt water is going to end up in these fittings.

Does anyone have experience using grease (ala out board motor techniques), or other treatments, to reduce corrosion between the stainless hardware and aluminum components in these frames?

- george

MrSteve

Zen MBB Master
No, I've no experience with

No, I've no experience with the Silvio frame. However, I do have a lifetime of professional experience with a lot of different motorcycle models. The easiest way to keep your ride clean is to wipe off any road grime immediately after your ride. If your ride was rainy, you need to towel-dry your bike first and then wipe down your bike. I've always used Pledge brand spray furniture polish for paint, chrome, rubber and plastic. It cleans, protects, displaces moisture and does not leave behind any waxy build-up, like a paste wax will. For the chain, cogs and derailleurs I use a rag wet with WD40. No build up, displaces moisture. Every week, spend twenty minutes oiling the brake lever pivots, the control cables and service your chain. Also, wax the paintwork with actual wax, polish the bright metal parts with actual metal polish and check all the fasteners while you're at it. Remember, I've done this and it works. If you follow a similar routine yourself, on your bike, using similar products, then your Silvio will reward your efforts with a long, trouble-free service life. Sincerely, Steve

John Tolhurst

Zen MBB Master
All our bikes are 7005

All our bikes are 7005 aluminium and have steel and stainless steel fittings. However there is no raw aluminium, it is either painted or anodised.

georgec