Silvio Recumbutt for Larger Riders?

charlesw

Hi!

I'm weighing the pros/cons of the Silvio vs. the Vendetta.

One of the things that worries me about the Silvio is if the recline angle is too upright and might cause recumbutt.

It's kind of a mystery as to what exactly causes RB, but I tend to think it's a combination of body weight and degree of recline (or lack thereof). I'm 6'4" and 240 lbs (hopefully I'll shave that down to 230 with this year's riding season).

What's the experience with RB on the Silvio?

Thanks!

TimOz

None, zero, zip.
I have a

None, zero, zip.

I have a Silvio and I am 6ft 2 and weight a little less than you (but not much). I am new to the Cruzbikes but I can ride 2-3 hours and do 50km on streets and rough bike paths and have absolutely no sign of derrier numbness. I get off feeling tired but I could do it all again.

I have added another 10mm layer of padding to both seat parts but apart from that it is standard. I was using platform pedals and I think I got extra leg tiredness from trying to hold my legs up. I have just fitted PDS pedals and got some shoes. Tried it and they work fine but I have not had time to go for a long ride. Hopefully Saturday.

Rick Newton

I am 6'-2" and 196 pounds, and 54 years old with neck, back, and tailbone problems. I usually get tailbone soreness when sitting on an airline seat for awhile, or "Jeep-seating," as my dad calls it. He had his coxic (tail) bone removed many years ago but still has a problem. My pain is only when I get up out of the seat (airline, etc.), and a little while afterwards. I just rode my Silvio for 33 miles (my second ride,) and no problem so far.
What exactly do you mean by "Recumbutt." Is it just numbness? No problem there. I'll see though after my first century.

randyspann

I''m getting the recumbutt