softrider or quest

Lisa Frohmann

I am new to cruz bikes. Before my injury I rode 125 miles a week communting and an occasional century. I am ready to ride again but need a new bike. I have to keep my arms in a neutral position so I do not tax my neck and shoulders. I live in Chicago so the terrain is flat, on occasion I like to head to southern WI with hills.

What do you all advise? Appreciate your assistance.

Charles.Plager

Recumbent Quant
Hi Lisa,
Either should work.

Hi Lisa,

Either should work. The Quest (particularly with the smaller 451 wheels) is very nice as you can pack in a suitcase and take it with you.

For most of Chicagoland (where my parents live in Highland Park, they do have some "real" hills), the gearing on either would be fine. For real hills, I either recommend the Quest 451 (smaller wheels) or putting a triple crank on the Sofrider (which can be done at any point).

Cheers,
Charles

Rod

Hi Lisa,
I chose a cruzbike

Hi Lisa,
I chose a cruzbike because I wanted to have a bike that would give me a road bike experience instead of the total upright ride I was getting from my cruser. I broke my neck a number of years ago and have a neck fussion. This made ridding a DF road bike imposible, because I can not crain my neck in the position needed to ride a DF. I have a Silvio and live in Aurora, IL. If you are interested in seeing what a Silvio looks like we could surely make it happen. My son and his family lives in Chicaco in the Hide park area.

jwitten

My perspective...

Hi Lisa.

You'd probably like either. Please keep in mind that there is a learning curve with any Cruzbike, and a bit of practice in an open parking lot is required to get the hang of the front-wheel drive system.

I own both a Sofrider and the smaller wheel (451) Quest, so here is my perspective.