Stop the flop

onmyback

I've been riding my first Cruzbike (Q45) for a few months and am getting quite comfortable with it. It is my primary commuter and errand running bike, so I do lots of parking in bike racks. It's important to me that this takes a minimal amount of time and fuss, so I mount head and tail lights on my helmet and use smoothly releasing pannier(s).
When parking, I compress the rear suspension and slide the Q Touring and Commuting rack under the bike rack top bar. This holds my Q45 vertical, but doesn't stop the front triangle from flopping over, at the least touch and banging neighbouring bikes. I've tried attaching the shock cord that I carry for strapping purchases on, to hold the handlebar, but it just stretches more or slides. I was considering arranging something with rope, but then it will take time to stow safely. I've also considered adding a spring, like a Dutch bike steering damper. What are you all doing to "stop the flop"?

billyk

Guru
What about the kickstand? The Q45 is the first cruzbike to have a truly functional kickstand. Then put the rear wheel into the rack and lock it up.

onmyback

What about the kickstand? The Q45 is the first cruzbike to have a truly functional kickstand. Then put the rear wheel into the rack and lock it up.
These are the typical bike racks, around my city - http://bypedal.typepad.com/photos/bike_racks_of_vancouver_b/index.html The most common, including at my workplace, is the Cora (red, second one in images). I order to back into the rack, I depress the rear suspension about 2cm to get my Q45 pannier rack under the top crossbar of the bike rack. This and the fact that the bike rack dividers are 9" apart (I've had to significantly narrow the OEM Touring and Commuting rack), means my bike must be vertical. The least touch lets the front triangle flop to one side and bash other bikes.