TW Bents

Kungfuguy

Hi, I'm new to bents! I'd love to have one. I love the design of the Cruzbike. I think it is the right compromise of form and function. Many bents are too extreme in design. Too low or high. Too long. Poor visibility. Etc..... At first glance the CB looks like a conventional bike and that's what drew me here.

I'm rather fond of the TW Bents Cobra. It's has a FWD and folds. The chain bends at a 90 degree angle. Can John explain what purpose this serves?

Sadly TW Bents is closed! There are very few vidoes of the Cobra on youtube. Not sure if it went to market?

Eric Winn

Zen MBB Master
FWD with fixed bottom bracket

FWD with fixed bottom bracket (FBB) achieved by allowing the chain to twist. Chain routing is controlled by idlers.

Cruzbike includes the bottom bracket in with the steering triangle of fork, boom, and chainstays resulting in a moving bottom bracket (MBB) FWD. No chain twist, much shorter chain, standard upright bike bits, e.g. no idlers and such but you do have to learn to ride the MBB aspect but it is mucho fun.

Here is an example of the RaptoBike Mid Racer where you can see how the chain twists a little as the front wheel is turned.

Raptobike-mid-racer-fwd.png width: 455px; ;

-Eric

Ivan

Guru
Yes to Eric's comments. Thus,

Yes to Eric's comments. Thus, the Cobra has front wheel drive without pedal induced steering that MBB has. I researched the Cobra when I was learning about recumbents, especially cos I was looking at folding capability since I am a Brompton rider and someone had made the Cobra available in Singapore (so yes it went to market). However, I felt the Cruzbike design made more sense and considered Quest, Silvio and Vendetta purchase. Those idlers would sap energy! If you are telling me TW Bents stopped producing then I am glad I didn't buy that!

I now have Silvio 2.0 on order, and decided I only need one bike that folds!

Eric Winn

Zen MBB Master
Yep, I have a folder too but