First ride - questions

I’m a 30-yr veteran on a Vision recumbent
I did a 3-mile Cruzbike ride 2 days ago, and a 12 mile today. I have a new Q45.

1 - my tailbone is sore. Is that normal and temporary?

2 - starting up from stopped is quite wobbly, kind of as expected. Likewise, any acceleration or pushing up hill requires a lot of push and/or pull with the arms to counter the turning force of pedaling. Is that something that could improve with practice, or are there specific techniques to try? Otherwise, I’m gonna have to get some pipes!

Thanks!

ReklinedRider

Zen MBB Master
I’m a 30-yr veteran on a Vision recumbent
I did a 3-mile Cruzbike ride 2 days ago, and a 12 mile today. I have a new Q45.

1 - my tailbone is sore. Is that normal and temporary?

2 - starting up from stopped is quite wobbly, kind of as expected. Likewise, any acceleration or pushing up hill requires a lot of push and/or pull with the arms to counter the turning force of pedaling. Is that something that could improve with practice, or are there specific techniques to try? Otherwise, I’m gonna have to get some pipes!

Thanks!
1) tailbone should get better. you can always change the seat back angle on these if it doesn't.

2) a Cruzbike has a steep but fairly short learning curve. The best way to get better is to go to the Cruzbike home page, scroll down to the very bottom, and under 'Questions' click on 'How to ride a Cruzbike'. That's an excellent video, step by step, on riding a Cruzbike. Once you follow all those steps and practice in the way it tells you, things will be a LOT better. As for the wobbly starts, once you've followed the video instructions and you're a bit more comfortable with the bike, using cleated pedals so you can one-legged pedal until you get up some speed while using the other leg to help balance works well for many of us, especially on uphill starts and starts on wet pavement.

Thanks!

I watched the videos.