Impressions After 200 miles on a Vendetta

RBW1938

Finished my 4th road ride on my Vendetta and wanted to share my impressions and comparisons.
I have been riding recumbents since 1990 and Bacchetta's the last 15. I have been on a CA3 for the last year and a half.
I expected the Vendetta's ride to be harsher than the CA3 since it is an Aluminum frame and the CA3 is carbon.
Not so, the Vendetta's ride is noticeably smoother than the CA3,
I thought the Vendetta would be more difficult to maneuver at low speed and turns. Again surprised as once I became used to the V's characteristics the handling is better than the B.
Biggest difference is sprinting and climbing as the use of the upper body on the V puts more power down and is much more efficient.
So, at this point, I am very happy having taken the leap and purchasing a Vendetta. Still a lot to learn, especially starts with anything but level and dry ground but I get better with every ride.
(by the way, my CA3 is for sale)

bladderhead

Zen MBB Master
Before I learnt to get away from a standing start, I could not get away from a standing start. Now I can, no trouble. You will get it.

jond

Zen MBB Master
Ultimately I reckon comfort has more to do with tyre pressure and sidewall suppleness than actual frame materials . Of course frame design is most important and here the vendetta is brilliantly not a stick.

Making the vendetta in carbon fibre would not result in much improved ride from an already high point.

some vendetta frames must have a lot of miles on them by now.

the reason I’d rate the curved stick pelso brevet slightly more comfortable than vendetta is down to 32mm tyres at 50 psi compared to 25-28 mm tyres at 80 psi

im sure hopeful one day the crown fork of the vendetta will accept wider tyres than 28 mm like the s40 and brevet.

because comfort = speed ;)

and we all don’t ride on smooth boards.

Last edited:

RojoRacing

Donut Powered Wise-guy