New member T 50

Libraman

I have been riding recumbents for over 20 years. Decided to make the transition to a Cruzbike. I was up and riding it within 20 minutes. I’m still a bit wobbly at times and need to practice riding in a narrow straight line. Did take it briefly on the road and was terrified when cars came by and I had to stay close to the shoulder. Just keep practicing I’m thinking of course. One stretch I decided to put some power strokes on for speed and I didn’t counter with the handlebars. Almost wiped out. There seems to be a balance between foot stroke and handlebar pressure. Does that get better and less of a challenge?

Any tips??Are clipless pedals or toe clips in the future or too dangerous??

Thanks!

Frito Bandito

Zen MBB Master
Welcome braddah! It'll get easier and ultimately intuitive. I usually white knuckle each ride because I am too lazy to train properly, and too frugal to pay for a trainer to draw me up a specific training program, but today I rode a little longer so I kept the power down a little. During the ride where there were no other people I was focusing on the pedal stroke and I noticed that a light grip and pressure on the bar were enough to keep the bike very straight and stable, and I didn't feel as if I were trying to pedal steer. As for clipping in, it seems plenty of experienced riders notice an immediate improvement.

chicorider

Zen MBB Master
@Libraman Welcome! Clipless pedals do make these bikes easier to ride. The feet are involved in the steering, whether clipped in or not; when they are clipped in they become a much more predictable and reliable part of the steering. It can seem scary being clipped in at first--like you have less control. But in truth, being clipped in gives you more control. It's a paradox that goes away pretty quickly with time and practice. Double-sided clipless pedals are nice; you don't have to fiddle with finding the correct side.