knees and hills

Weogo Reed

Hi Folks,

I started riding a used Schwinn Varsity 10-speed in 1971.
As a competitive runner I trashed both knees(medial meniscus), and all the surgeries did was
clean up the tears and smooth things out. I continued riding, but slower, and basically stopped a couple decades ago because of knee pain on hills. Where I live(near Asheville, NC) I'm surrounded by hills.
My question is - how knee-friendly is riding a geared-down CruzBike? Slow riding would be fine with me.

Thanks and good health, Weogo

LarryOz

Cruzeum Curator & Sigma Wrangler
Hi Folks,

I started riding a used Schwinn Varsity 10-speed in 1971.
As a competitive runner I trashed both knees(medial meniscus), and all the surgeries did was
clean up the tears and smooth things out. I continued riding, but slower, and basically stopped a couple decades ago because of knee pain on hills. Where I live(near Asheville, NC) I'm surrounded by hills.
My question is - how knee-friendly is riding a geared-down CruzBike? Slow riding would be fine with me.

Hi Weogo,
I lived in Hendersonville (for 20 years) up until 2 years ago. I learned to ride a Cruzbike in that area and loved it. (also miss it)
I also have knee problems. ACL repair 40 years ago on my left knee and now I am bone on bone. I can't walk a 1/2 mile without pain, but I can ride all day on my Vendetta and it does not both my knee. So to answer your question - yes the Cruzbike is knee friendly (actually any bike is knee friendly - as long as you don't mash the pedals at a slow rpm. It is all about gearing and all Cruzbikes take standard components.

The beauty of Cruzbike is that it is also: butt friendly, wrist friendly, neck friendly (which uprights are not!) :rolleyes:
I live in Hilton Head now and have virtually every model Cruzbike has made. If you ever make it down here let me know - I would be happy to teach you to ride a Cruzbike and help you figure out which model would be best for you.
Kind Regards,
Larry